5T engine build
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

triumph rookie

USA
7 Posts

Posted - 10/10/2013 :  00:56:30  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi, I am new to Triumphs and to web forums. I recently bought a 5t basket case. Some parts are missing so I plan on making this kind of stock. The most important thing is it absolutely must out run my friend's 45 cubic inch Harley! I have been told that the right side crank bearing is a week point. I need to find out what is the best cure. I have been told several different things. One was to use a 650 crank and machine out the case to receive a different bearing. I was wondering about if I could just set the 500 cylinders on 650 cases. Any help would be great and there is nothing more fun than smoking a HD!
Thanks

Grumpy

New Zealand
542 Posts

Posted - 10/10/2013 :  04:14:36  Show Profile  Visit Grumpy's Homepage  Reply with Quote
What year is your motor?
The number stamped on the top near (left hand) side of the cases will tell you this.
Number will start with 5T.....
Does it have an extra stamp in the alloy cases next to the number that looks like a wagon wheel?
Is it an alternator or Magneto engine?
If you dont know how to date it post the number and I will tell you exactly what you have.
Regardless of exactly what you have just remember these things are getting up around 50 - 60 years old so treat it kindly.
Easiest way to smoke a harley without stretching and old and possibly fragile motor is to take the Harley on in the tight twistys.
On 50 year old crappy brakes, likly to be 7" half width front hub you will have to think about stopping 200 meters before you need to so think hard before you tinker too much in an effort to get extra speed out of it.
Check out my earlier posts on my 5T, may be interesting to you.

Cheers,
Trev

1938 5T Replica
1966 T100 Cafe racer
1959 T20 Cub (in captivity)
Oh and one modern of another marque